Meet Our Students

Graduate Students – Summer 2015

Below is a list of graduate students who are either pursuing a degree in Horticulture or advised by a Horticulture faculty member.

Horticulture Graduate Students

NAME EMAIL DEGREE ADVISOR RESEARCH
Marc Amante amante@wisc.edu MS Patterson
Lynn Dickman ldickman@wisc.edu MS Bethke
Mike GeigerMichael Geiger mbgeiger@wisc.edu MS Patterson
Kitt Healy gkhealy@wisc.edu MS Dawson
Matt Lemke mjlemke2@wisc.edu MS Colquhoun
Andrew Maule maule2@wisc.edu MS Patterson
Blair Miller bsmiller5@wisc.edu PHD Bussan
Terri Theisen tltheisen@wisc.edu MS Dawson Organic production of open pollinated carrots
Madeline Wimmer mkwimmer@wisc.edu MS Atucha

 

Plant Breeding & Plant Genetics Graduate Students Advised by Horticulture Faculty

 

NAME EMAIL DEGREE ADVISOR  RESEARCH
Carlos Arbizu-BerrocalOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA arbizu@wisc.edu PHD Spooner  Genetic diversity and germplasm evaluation of wild and cultivated carrots (genus Daucus)
Jenny Bolivar-MedinaJenny Bolivar, Graduate Student, University of Wisconsin-Madison, Plant Breeding and Plant Genetics Program, Department of Horticulture bolivar@wisc.edu PHD Zalapa
Adam Bolton albolton@wisc.edu PHD Simon
Giovanny Eduardo Covarrubias Pazaran Giovanny E. Covarrubias Pazaran covarrubiasp@wisc.edu PHD Zalapa Cranberry Linkage Maps, Association Mapping and Future Genomic Selection in Cranberry (V. macrocarpon). Interspecific hibridization in Vaccinium Genera. Click here for Eduardo’s CV.
Christopher D’Angelochris d photo cjdangelo2@wisc.edu PHD Goldman Dormancy and vernalization in onion to develop an annual cycle breeding strategy
Eduardo Dominguez-Munaiz dominguezmun@wisc.edu PHD Havey
Luis Diaz Garcia diazgarcia@wisc.edu PHD Zalapa
Ron Dymerski dymerski@wisc.edu PHD Weng
Curtis FrederickCurtis Frederick cmfrederick@wisc.edu PHD Bethke Area of research includes breeding against defects involved with chipping potatoes and cold induced sweetening in storage.
Charlene Grahn charlene.grahn@wisc.edu PHD Simon
Erick Gutierrez Benites gutierrezben@wisc.edu MS Nienhuis
Joseph Kasukurthi kasukurthi@wisc.edu MS Nienhuis
Claire LubyClaire Luby cluby@wisc.edu PHD Goldman The effect of intellectual property rights on access to and sharing of plant genetic resources and diversity using carrot as a model crop.  Click here to download one of Claire’s recent publications in Sustainability.
Lynn Maher lcmaher@wisc.edu MS Goldman  Selection for geosmin (earthy taste) in table beet (Beta vulgaris)
Alex MarandAlexandre Marand marand@wisc.edu PHD Jiang Plant Molecular Biology and Epigenetics
Natalie Mello nmello@wisc.edu MS Nienhuis
Pamela Moreno
Pamela Moreno
pfife@wisc.edu PHD Simon Work with Daucus carota (carrots) to explore new sources of resistance to the fungus Alternaria dauci
Axel Ramirez MaderaAxel ramirez2@wisc.edu PHD Havey Fine-mapping and sequencing of the zym genomic region in cucumber and its association with spontaneous tetraploidy.  Click here to view Axel’s CV.
Lorraine Rodriguez-Bonilla rodriguezbon@wisc.edu PHD Zalapa
Pimchanok Satapoomin satapoomin@wisc.edu PHD Simon
Justin Schabow schabow@wisc.edu PHD Palta
Brandon Schlautman schlautman@wisc.edu PHD Zalapa
Cari SchmitzCariSchmitz  caschmitz@wisc.edu  PHD Endelman
Schuyler Smith sdsmith5@wisc.edu PHD Endelman
Lance SnodgrassLanceSnodgrass  snodgrass2@wisc.edu  MS Endelman
Jesse Swiecichowski
Grad School Picture (3)
swiecichowsk@wisc.edu MS Nienhuis Investigating the nitrogen use efficiency of snap beans
Paradee Thammapichai Paradee - Copy thammapichai@wisc.edu MS Weng
Sarah Turner sdturner2@wisc.edu PHD Simon
Yuhui WangYuhui ywang469@wisc.edu PHD Weng
Najia Zaman nzaman@wisc.edu PHD Krysan
Zixian Zeng zzeng5@wisc.edu PHD Jiang